You are here

The Resolution College

The Resolution College was established by Banking Separation and Regulation Act 2013-672 of 26 July 2013. It is chaired by the Governor of the Banque de France, François Villeroy de Galhau, and has six members. The Resolution College is tasked with supervising the preparation and implementation of measures to prevent and resolve banking crises.
At the ACPR, the work of the Resolution College is prepared by a specific directorate. The head of the college is appointed by a decree from the Minister of the Economy on the recommendation of the Governor of the Banque de France, who is also Chairman of the ACPR.

The legal construction of the 2013 Act seeks to ensure the separation of supervision and resolution activities while allowing operational flexibility for the College to work with all ACPR teams on a dayto- day basis. The Resolution director reports directly to the Resolution College. The resources required are incorporated in the ACPR budget, which now has a section, agreed after consultation with the Resolution director, relating to the Resolution Directorate’s operations. To carry out its tasks, the Resolution Directorate has access to information held by ACPR for supervisory purposes.

In 2014, the Resolution College has adopted a general strategy on resolution that will define the key tenets of the ACPR’s approach in this area. In line with this general strategy, and while adapting to the particular situation of each banking institution or group, the Resolution College’s new directorate will have to draw up operational resolution plans that explain the specific ways in which the resolution measures will be applied to each of the banking institutions and groups concerned.



Chairman :

François Villeroy de Galhau


The designated  Deputy Governor :

Jean-Paul Faugère


Chairman of the autorité des marchés financiers

(AMF - Financial Markets Authority) :

Marie-Anne Barbat-Layani


The Director of the Treasury :

Bertrand Dumont


First Deputy Governor of the Banque de France:

Denis Beau


Chairman of the Deposit Insurance and Resolution Fund :

Thierry Dissaux


Presiding judge at the Commercial Chamber of the Cour de cassation :

Vincent Vigneau


Updated on: 02/16/2024 18:57