



"Ten years of SSM banking supervision: key achievements and main challenges ahead" Monday 24 June 2024, ACPR, Paris

14:00 Welcome coffee

14:30 Opening address

François VILLEROY de GALHAU, Governor, Banque de France and Chairman, ACPR

14:45 Introduction: how did the sovereign debt crisis and the bank/sovereign nexus lead to the decision to create the SSM?

Jean-Claude TRICHET, Honorary Governor, Banque de France, former President, European Central Bank

15:00 Roundtable 1:

2014 – 2024: What are the key achievements of 10 years of SSM supervision in Europe and the main expectations for the future?

Each Chair of the SB will share the perspective of her/his mandate.

Moderator: Edouard FERNANDEZ-BOLLO, Member of the Supervisory Board, European Central Bank

Danièle NOUY, former Chair of the Supervisory Board, European Central Bank

Andrea ENRIA, former Chair of the Supervisory Board, European Central Bank

Claudia BUCH, Chair of the Supervisory Board, European Central Bank

- 15:45 Q&A session on roundtable 1
- 16:00 Coffee break

16:15 Roundtable 2: European supervision: effective enough? Or not enough?

Both SSM and industry representatives will have the opportunity to discuss the effectiveness of SSM supervision, leveraging the lessons learned from the SREP implementation and the Wise Person Group report. Participants will elaborate on the balance between level playing field and risk-based supervision, the recent SSM adjustments (Multi Year Approach and Risk Tolerance Framework) and its agility and timely interventions.

Moderator: Fernando RESTOY, Chair, Financial Stability Institute

Denis BEAU, First Deputy Governor, Banque de France and Member of the Supervisory Board

Stéphane DEDEYAN, Chairman of the Executive Board, La Banque Postale

Elizabeth McCAUL, Member of the Supervisory Board, European Central Bank

Nicolas NAMIAS, CEO, BPCE Group

Pierre PALMIERI, Deputy CEO, Société Générale

17:00 Q&A session on roundtable 2

17:15 Concluding remarks

Denis BEAU, First Deputy Governor, Banque de France and Member of the Supervisory Board, European Central Bank